They’re Gone, and I’m SO LOST


     How many times as a mother do you get overwhelmed, wish for a break?  To sleep in, to shower without interruption?  To finish a book or watch something on television that isn’t animated?  I do.  And today I don’t.

     I put my three littles on a train today with my husband, headed to my in-laws house for a 60th birthday present.  They’re going to be gone for TWO WEEKS.  I’m not sure how I”m going to cope.  They’ve been gone less than an hour, and already the house is too quiet, too empty.  I actually have cartoons on for background noise.

     I have plans, of course.  I’m going to use the time to repaint the two oldest kids rooms, redecorate them without worrying about moving kids and furniture and endless interruptions.  I’m going to shampoo the carpets.  I have a garden to turn over and a lawn to mow.  Maybe I’ll put a border up in the living room.  There are things to do.  Right now, I’m feeling bad for myself though.  And lost.  And I MISS them!

     D is three, and kind of a mama’s boy (not that I mind!)  He was the one I was worried about.  He hugged me at the door to the train, said “K, ma…love ya.  Bye!” and crawled up the steep steps without a look back.  He actually looked kind of annoyed that I followed him onto the train with the suitcase! 

     This is going to be an adventure for all of us, I think.

Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
