The Diva Cup! (reviewed, just for you!)


I suppose I should add a disclaimer to the beginning of this review. *Ahem*

This review is about a menstrual product. Specifically a menstrual cup. If the idea of inserting your fingers into your vagina gives you the willies, or if reading a post that may involve menstrual blood, female genitalia, or other “taboo” subjects makes you blush and/or feel queasy then stop reading now. If you’ve come this far and are still curious about this fantastic product, well….read on!

The first question I had was “what the heck is a Diva Cup”? The Diva Cup is a soft silicone cup, latex and BPA free. Its folded and placed into your vagina (where it “pops” open) and there it collects your menstrual flow. Sounds pretty cool, huh? What’s even better is that you can wear your Diva Cup for up to 12 hours, and insert it BEFORE you get your period. Ever try to wear a tampon or a bulky pad because you “think” you might start in the middle of the night (or out on a date? or walking around the zoo?) How did that work for you? I can tell you with 100% sincerity — you cannot feel the Diva Cup if it’s inserted properly. No dangling string. No diaper-like pad. Nada. There have been several occasions that I actually forgot that I was having my period, because there was no mess to remind me.

The Diva Cup comes in two sizes: Size 1 for women under 30 who have never delivered a baby, and Size 2 for us moms and women over 30. The cups hold about an ounce of fluid (and actually have measurements on the inside if you’d like to keep track!) An ounce may not sound like a lot, but statistics claim that “most” women have a flow just over an ounce for the entire span of their menses. Using the right size Diva Cup is important, as its your vaginal muscles that are going to keep this baby in place. Menstrual cups are not the time for vanity sizing, so even if you’re 31 and childless– order the size 2!

So…why use a Diva Cup? From their site:

Women, on average, experience a lifetime menstruation span of 41 years (11-52). From use of disposable feminine hygiene, an estimated 12 billion sanitary pads and 7 billion tampons are dumped into the North American environment each year (1998). More than 170,000 tampon applicators were collected along U.S. coastal areas between 1998 and 1999.

Most tampons and pads contain surfactants, adhesives and additives. In addition, most pads contain polyethylene plastic whose production is a pollutant. Also, dioxin, a known carcinogen, is a by-product of the bleaching process of tampons containing rayon. In landfills, many of these substances can leach into the environment (groundwater, streams and lakes) causing serious pollution and health concerns.”

Why do I use a Diva Cup (other than the reasons above?) I’ll never run out of sanitary products when the stores are closed. I don’t have to worry about an escaped string while I’m in a bathing suit. There’s no “period smell” that can come with a pad (its summer now, and HUMID here.) I think its more comfortable than a tampon, and I find that I have less intense cramps with my Diva Cup. In the long run, its cheaper … one Diva Cup for a year (its recommended you replace them yearly as they are a sanitary product) cost me about $28 versus my buying a box of tampons each month (about $7 x 12 = $84 .)

So, my darlings, are you still with me? Lets get down to the nitty-gritty. I ordered my Diva Cup in advance of my next period. I wanted a chance to look it over and practice with it before I actually needed to use it. My first step was YouTube. There are a number of wonderful video clips on the different types of folds that can be used to insert the Diva Cup. Some folds are smaller going in, others are larger but pop open easier. I’ve found that the two that work best for me are the C-fold and the triangle. I watched video clips, read the instructions, and spent some time in the bathroom with my Diva Cup and some olive oil to practice inserting. ( I need to say here that Diva Cup does NOT recommend the use of olive oil, as it can degrade the silicone. A water based lubricant would be a safer alternative!) I was surprised at how easy it was for me to get the Diva Cup right where it was supposed to be. Once the folded cup is in place, you’re supposed to rotate the cup until it “pops” open. There is no mistaking when the cup opens inside you, and that was great for me (cup open = no leaks.) It did take me a little more practice to learn to remove the cup. The most important part of removal is being RELAXED. The same muscles that are holding in your menstrual cup need to relax to let it out. Grasp the stem, then move up a little higher to the ridges on the outside of the cup. Pinch the sides together to release the suction, then simply remove, empty, wash and re-insert. The entire process now takes me less time than either changing a pad or reinserting a tampon. I’m not going to tell you that your fingers are going to stay pristine and blood free. They won’t. You aren’t going to look like you just left a slaughter-house, either. You “may” get a small amount of menstrual blood on the tips of the fingers you are using to remove the cup. I find that the cup itself does such a good job of containing my flow that there is no blood on the outside of the cup for me to touch. Besides, I always wash my hands after using the bathroom…don’t you?

In short? I love my Diva Cup! I feel like I’m helping to do my part to reduce waste, its comfortable, easy to use, and comes with an adorable “Diva” pin and storage bag. Would you like to win one for yourself or a friend to try? Diva Cup has graciously donated one in each size for me to give away here on the blog! It’s simple to enter and win, ready?

Each of the following will get you one entry. I’ll use Random.org to choose a winner about noon on July 1st.

1. Leave me a comment, telling me which size Diva Cup you’d like if you win.

2. Follow me on Twitter ( @ Lynchmama)

3. Follow the blog.

4. Follow @DivaCup on Twitter

You do NOT need to leave a seperate comment for each entry! (You can, but totally don’t have to!) Good luck to everyone!

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Toni
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 17:44:56

    Great review! I have heard only wonderful things about the Diva and I need to get one ASAP. I dislike pads and tampons irritate me, can’t wait to try the Diva cup!

    Reply

  2. Haven
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 18:43:25

    I’m totally entering to get a size 2! I still have and use my size 1 from before being pregnant!.

    Reply

  3. Stacey Tabor
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 10:23:50

    Thanks for the fantastic review. We wanted to clarify on the the points you made. First, we do not suggest using olive oil with The DivaCup. It can degrade the silicone. Please visit our website for important instructions when using the cup. http://www.divacup.com. Thanks!

    Reply

    • @lynchmama
      Jun 23, 2010 @ 14:22:20

      I made sure to note that in my post. I guess I should have been more thorough while researching! Thanks, Stacey.

      Reply

  4. Toni Raquel
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 13:06:00

    I already follow you on twitter, but I’m following @Divacup now and your blog! I’m entering for the Size 2, I really hope I win this, I’ve wanted a Diva Cup for a long time now. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Michelle McCann
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 16:01:15

    I’d be a size 2, methinks

    I haven’t had a period since having my little girl in December but as soon as I stop breastfeeding I’d love to try something new!

    Following on twitter x

    Reply

  6. Sue Smith
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 16:01:16

    I would love to win a size 1 one for my daughter. I already use a similar one myself, and swear by it!

    Reply

  7. Amanda
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 16:46:26

    I’d like to win a size 2! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Emma
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 06:39:02

    Hello. I’d like a size 2 please for my 33 year old mummy fanny. I follow you on Twitter of course -heading off to follow diva cup right now!

    Reply

  9. Haven
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 16:38:21

    I do follow you on Twitter! @havenlilianna

    Reply

  10. Haven
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 16:40:08

    I do follow divacup on Twitter also, and will follow your blog as soon as I can!

    Reply

  11. P.S. House
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 09:30:51

    I’ve been wanting to try the Diva Cup for a while. I haven’t had my menstrual cycle return since T was born 2YEARS ago (lucky me!!) but lately I’ve begun cramping each month and I know it’s going to come soon. I have heard nothing but good things about it and agree with you that it saves so much money! You make it sound really easy to put in place but I admit it still is intimidating. I would try the size 2 of course!

    Reply

  12. P.S. House
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 09:31:15

    And I follow you on twitter as @pshouseblog

    Reply

  13. Lauren Johnson
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 11:02:05

    Size 2! I follow you on twitter!(@LaurenDJohnson) I follow Diva Cup on twitter! I follow your. Blog…. I know were prego again, but I want one for the future!!

    Reply

  14. Janelle
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 17:33:35

    I’d choose size 2 and I’ll follow you on Twitter

    Reply

  15. Cynthia
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 14:50:27

    I follow you on twitter! @therealcyn and I’d take the size 2. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. MamaBennie
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 13:49:55

    I want to win a size 2

    Reply

  17. milkstained
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 13:50:49

    I do follow you on twitter, but I’m now following @DivaCup, too!

    I use one already and love it, but was so disappointed to find out that they’d changed their stance on using it with an IUD. But then the IUD didn’t work out anyway, so whatever!

    If I win, I’d love the one for giant vaginas, please.

    Reply

  18. Ashers_mum
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 13:52:19

    A good friend has been trying to convince me to use Diva Cups for years. Instead of shirking from
    it again, I’m going to have a look for that size 2. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  19. Rebecca
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 13:56:51

    I’m a Mom over here, so no matter how much I would love to be a size 1, I’m going to need a size 2 πŸ™‚

    Reply

  20. Rebecca
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 13:57:20

    Oops! I follow you on a twitter (@SpiffyBex)

    AND, I am now following your blog! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  21. Ashers_mum
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 14:02:40

    Ah! Now I’m following your blog too. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  22. TheOfficialPunk
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 15:24:02

    I read a RT mentioning diva cup.

    anyways…i have been pondering ordering a DivaCup since i have an IUD and it’s crazy since I had my son (2 years ago)

    but sadly i live far far away from any place that sells them.

    Size 2 please? please? πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  23. Cassie
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 16:07:25

    Size 2, pretty please? I’m currently pregnant, but my period always returns a couple months post partum and I’ve been really wanting to try the Diva Cup.

    (Psst… I subscribe via email. Does that count as following the blog?)

    Reply

  24. Jenny B
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 16:43:18

    I have been wanting to try a DivaCup forever! I’d need the size for ladies +30 who have had babies πŸ™‚

    I also follow DivaCup on Twitter (I saw their retweet of your blog post!)

    Reply

  25. Sheila
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 16:47:04

    I’m trying to win one for a friend who is interested in trying it, but is still on the fence. She would use a size 2. I’ve been sending her links and even bought her a box of the disposable cups to practice with. haha

    (P.S. I’m already following @Divacup and now you, but I don’t know hot to follow a blog…??)

    Reply

  26. Shari
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 16:48:15

    Size 2, oh please! Following you on twitter and divacup too!

    Reply

  27. CFW
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 17:37:11

    If you want to try the Diva- whether you win or not- please try it! It’s changed my life. Seriously. Best. Thing. Ever.

    Reply

  28. Sonia
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 18:06:39

    Looks like the odds are better for a size 1! Unfortunately, I’d need a size 2. lol I follow both you and Diva Cup on twitter.

    Reply

  29. Desiree Miller
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 20:32:35

    I was introduced to the cup by a friend after getting 2 rounds of depo and having a merciless visit from Mother Nature that lasted on and off for 7 months & I’ll never go back to using anything else πŸ™‚
    Desiree Miller gamergrrrl28@hotmail.com

    Reply

  30. kileah mcilvain
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 00:41:38

    Following divacup on twitter as well as subscribed to your blog! Thanks πŸ˜€

    Reply

  31. Kelly
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 05:52:22

    Hey, great review! I’ve been looking into trying a cup for quite a while now. I’m entering for a size 1! Followin’ the blog, and on twitter. Thanks!

    Reply

  32. Bloomy Mommy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 23:11:09

    I would like size 2.

    Reply

  33. Bloomy Mommy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 23:11:32

    I follow you on twitter.

    Reply

  34. Bloomy Mommy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 23:12:27

    I am following @DivaCup on twitter.

    Reply

  35. Bloomy Mommy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 23:13:22

    I am following your blog.

    Reply

  36. Emily, Anthro Doula
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:17:01

    I’ve got to write a review of the Diva Cup myself one of these days. I have a question based on what you wrote though…

    You said “There is no mistaking when the cup opens inside you”

    Ok I REALLY can’t tell when it has made a seal or not. I’ve been wearing pantyliners every day just in case, and sometimes I leak a little (like a TINY bit). I tried rotating the cup (once its in me AND before its all the way in) and it just doesn’t happen. With my fingers, my pubic bone, the cup all up in there the cup just does not rotate and pop open. Any Suggestions??

    Reply

    • thecrunchypaganparent
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:47:09

      The first thing I’d suggest is trying a different fold when you insert the cup. A C fold pops open pretty easily. You may need to angle back towards your tailbone a little, too. Once the cup is in, you can try gently tugging on the stem. If you feel suction, you have a seal! Sometimes I find turning the cup in both directions helps it open and seal a little better. Also, if you aren’t squeamish (and mist menstrual cup users aren’t ) you can insert one finger and run it around the outside if the Diva Cup to make sure it’s fully open.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
